Tuesday, March 14, 2006

ANC’s metro mayoral candidates announced

The African National Congress has announced its mayoral candidates for six metropolitan councils. This follows a meeting of its national working committee in Johannesburg yesterday. Former Cape Town mayor Nomaindia Mfeketo is the candidate for this metropole, former mayors Amos Masondo and Duma Nkosi are the respective candidates for Gauteng’s Johannesburg and Ekurhuleni and Obed Mlaba is the candidate for Ethekwini in KwaZulu-Natal. Nondumiso Maphazi is the mayoral candidate for the Eastern Cape’s Nelson Mandela metro, and Gwen Ramakgopa is the candidate for Tshwane in Gauteng. According to ANC spokesperson Smuts Ngonyama the mayoral candidates for district councils will be announced at a later stage. Candidates for local councils will be announced by the party's provincial leadership.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri