Saturday, May 19, 2007

Bulls crowned champions

By Tando Mfengwana
19 May 2007

As if Sharks fans hadn’t had enough of hearing it, the Blue Bulls have become the first South African team to win the Super 14 Cup.

The Sharks kept their temperament up to hold on to a 14-10 lead during the first half.

They drew first blood at first half when old reliable Percy Montgomery converted a penalty to edge over the Bulls.

But that was short lived as the Bulls replied with a tri by Pierre Spies when the Sharks defence blundered and let him through.

That was not the end of the first half as J.P. Pieterson put the dominant Sharks on top when he score the second trie of the day.

Bulls player Derick Hougaard scored two penalties and two conversions to give the Bulls some glimmer of hope when the Sharks seemed set to lift the trophy.

The bulls settled in to the match after a slow start, not to take anything away from the Sharks who took full advantage of this slow start and held on to the lead for most of the match.

It looked like a sure winner for the Sharks when Albert van den Berg the score the third tri of the day.

Speedster Brian Habana snatched the Sharks hopes and dreams of holding the cup with a hard earned tri when the Sharks wilted from enormous pressure from the Bulls.

Sharks:Tries: JP Pietersen, Albert van den Berg
Penalties: Percy Montgomery (3)
Bulls:Tries Pierre Spies, Bryan Habana
Penalties: Derick Hougaard (2)
Conversions: Hougaard (2)


Post a comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri