Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Steyn now part of ODI’s and Pro20 squad

By Ilhaam Hoosain
20 November 2007

Dale Steyn who made headlines this past weekend for his fast bowling has been named for the team for the Standard Bank International Pro20 as well as the three-match MTN ODI series against New Zealand in the coming weeks.

In the only change that is taking place to the squad that beat Pakistan in the previous ODI series, Steyn will replaces Justin Kemp. Regarding the ODI series, Herschelle Gibbs will have Morne van Wyk on stanby, as Gibbs suffered a knee injury during the second Castle Test that ended on Sunday.

“With the number of all-rounders in our squad we are happy with the depth we have to our batting,” says Joubert Strydom selection convener.

“Dale gives us an exciting extra option as a wicket taking bowler,” comments Strydom.

He goes on to say that the squad has earned a full vote of confidence from its excellent One-Day International series against Pakistan at the end of October in Lahore.

The Proteas Standard Bank Squad will include:
· Graeme Smith
· Herschelle Gibbs
· Jacques Kallis
· AB de Villiers
· JP Duminy
· Mark Boucher
· Shaun Pollock
· Albie Morkel
· Vernon Philander
· Johan Botha
· Andre Nel
· Charl Langeveldt
· Makhaya Ntini
· Dale Steyn

Morne van Wyk will be on stanby for the ODI series only.

On Thursday morning the Proteas will get together and practise at Liberty Life Wanderers Stadium at 2pm.

Friday, November 23: Standard Bank International Pro20, Liberty Life Wanderers Stadium
Sunday, November 25: 1st MTN ODI, Sahara Stadium Kingsmead
Friday, November 30: 2nd MTN ODI, Sahara Oval St. George’s
Sunday, December 2: 3rd MTN ODI, Sahara Park Newlands


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri