Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Proteas squad name unchanged

By Tina George
22 January 2008

South African cricket selectors have announced an unchanged Protea squad of 15 for the second and third matches in the five-match limited overs series against West Indies.

The next match is a day-night game at Newlands in Cape Town on Friday and the following at Sahara Oval St. George’s on Sunday .

Selection Chief Joubert Strydom says that Proteas captain Graeme Smith has shown encouraging improvement overnight to his knee injury and is likely to be fit to start Friday’s match.

Strydom adds that normally they would prefer to have a slightly smaller squad but that they have a number of injuries in the squad in addition to Smith’s injury and feel it is sensible to have the additional depth.

Proteas squad include the likes of AB de Villiers , Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kalis, Dale Steyn and Makhaya Ntini.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri