Friday, April 30, 2010

NPC commissioners named

By Ofentse Mokae
30 April 2010

The long awaited announcement of commissioners to the National Planning Commission has been made by President Jacob Zuma in Pretoria today.

Topping the list of the 25 strong commissioners is businessman Cyril Ramaphosa who will be Planning Minister Trevor Manuel’s deputy.

Addressing the media, Zuma said the key aspect of the commission was to introduce effective planning as well as monitoring and evaluation capacity in the Presidency in order to guide government.

“Last year we announced that the new administration would do things differently and would work consistently to change the way government works, in order to improve service delivery,” Zuma said.

Zuma said the commission will enable the Presidency to make government’s policies and plans more coherent and focused on achieving the type of society that all envisage.

Some of the other well-known names on the commission are former Eskom chairperson Bobby Godsell, University of KwaZulu-Natal vice-chancellor Malekgapuru Makgoba, ANC national executive committee member Joel Netshitenzhe and former Western Cape Environment MEC Tasneem Essop.

They will tackle issues such as water security, climate change, food security, energy security and defence and security matters.

While the Democratic Alliance welcomed the announcement, its parliamentary leader Athol Trollip said it was essential that the candidates selected by the President reflect a commitment to good governance, rather than furthering the ANC’s political agenda.

“We are busy studying the list and will make our opinion public once the list of candidates has been given due consideration,” Trollip said.

The commissioners’ work starts immediately with their first meeting scheduled for 10 and 11 May and will report on an ongoing basis to Cabinet.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri