DA makes changes to its caucus

The Democratic Alliance (DA) has made changes to the party’s National Whippery and Shadow Cabinet.

Siviwe Gwarube takes over from Natasha Mazzone, as the Democratic Alliance’s new Chief Whip in the National Assembly. Gwarube was previously the Spokesperson of the Official Opposition. Solly Malatsi alongside Cilliers Brink will now be the DA’s National Spokesperson.

DA leader John Steenhuisen announced the change to his caucus at a DA federal executive meeting on Thursday morning.

Mazzone, will now represent the DA in the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence, with a specific focus on overhauling the oversight model of the state security apparatus. She will also serve as the National Security Advisor to DA leader, John Steenhuisen.

Noko Masipa is the party’s new Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development. Masipa is no stranger to this portfolio as he previously headed the Portfolio Committee in this department.

The former DA Shadow Minister of State Security, Dianne Kohler-Barnard is the DA’s new Shadow Minister for Communications.

The DA’s newest Member of Parliament, Marina Van Zyl, is the additional member on the Committee on Basic Education.



Done By: Mitchum George


Popular Posts