Western Cape sporting legends honoured for their contribution to sport

The Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport hosted the Sport Legends Awards in Paarl today, honouring 18 sport legends from the Western Cape. 

The MEC, Anroux Marais, and the department, celebrate sportspeople for their “contribution, promotion, growth, development and transformation of sport in their communities”.

This is the 15th ceremony that honours sporting legends around the province, with the first dating back to 2005. Courtesy: The Western Cape Government

Nominees are proposed by members of the public and sporting communities who felt that the relevant sport people made a significant contribution to sport, are regarded as icons within their community, dedicated their lives to their sporting code and played a role in sport and recreation prior to 1992.

“Now more than ever, the roles of individuals who shaped sport in the province should be celebrated and we are therefore privileged to officially recognize our sporting legends and encourage our youth to follow in their footsteps,” said Marais.


The 18 sport legends that were honoured at this year’s ceremony include:

1.   Abdul Majiet Sait: Sport Association for the Physically Disabled

2.   Amanda Stripp: Softball

3.   Buyisile Kilifele: Rugby

4.   Cherzeley Granville Zyster: Bodybuilding

5.   Christina Susanna Muller: Netball

6.   Colbin Yabo: Boxing

7.   Eileen Christina Fortuin: Lifesaving

8.   Isaac Arthur David Raubenheimer: Cricket

9.   Dr Kevin James Du Plooy: Weightlifting

10.   Maria Magdelena Horn: Netball

11.   Marina Botma: Netball

12.   Mathemba Sheasby Ndlumbini: Cricket

13.   Micheal John William Noone: Badminton

14.   Mlungisi Sidwell Madlingozi: Athletics

15.   Norman Harold Cloete: Rugby

16.   Rosetta Baartman: Football

17.   William Heinrich Benn: Cricket

18.   Zoran Slavkovic: Basketball


Done By: Caitlin Maledo


Popular Posts