Monday, June 13, 2011

Plans into a free trade area underway

Lusanda Bill
13 June 2011

Negotiations have officially been launched into a free trade area that will cover 26 countries from Cairo to Cape Town.

Leaders from three of Africa’s largest economic blocs, namely the Southern African Development Community, the Common Market for East and Southern Africa and the East African Community, met yesterday in Sandton to begin discussions.

Once negotiations are complete, the envisioned free trade area will cover more than 700-million people.

President Jacob Zuma says the eventual aim is the economic unity of the whole continent.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri