Friday, August 20, 2021

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula elected as new Speaker of the National Assembly

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula has been elected as the new Speaker of the National Assembly.

The election comes after Thandi Modise resigned as Speaker following President Cyril Ramaphosa appointed her as the new Defence and Military Veterans Minister

After a voting process that lasted for over three hours, Mapisa-Nqakula was elected after she received 199 votes out of a total of 298 votes cast during a secret ballot. Dr. Annelie Lotriet MP, who was a nominee from the main opposition DA, received 82 votes, while 17 ballots were spoilt.

She is the seventh Speaker since a Democratic South Africa, six of whom were women Speaker’s.

Addressing the National Assembly sitting for the first time as Speaker on Thursday afternoon,  Mapisa-Nqakula described Parliament as the last line of defence of the country's constitutional democracy. She urged all parties to collaborate in service to the people of South Africa, and pledged to ensure that fairness and integrity of Parliament is protected and promoted without fear of favour.


New Speaker of the National Assembly, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula 

Done By: Mitchum George

No comments:

Growth, job creation and poverty reduction - key priorities for SA's 7th administration

Growth, job creation and poverty reduction was the key priorities that President Cyril Ramaphosa outlined as he opened parliament on Thursda...