Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Cape Town has 10 new Aldermen, but what does the title actually mean?


The City of Cape Town during its full Council sitting on Wednesday, 31 July 2019, resolved to confer the title of Alderman upon ten City councillors. On Wednesday, at its full Council sitting, Council resolved to confer the title and status of Alderman upon ten councillors of the City of Cape Town in terms of its Conferment of Civic Honours Policy. Their names are as follows:
  • Cllr Eddie Andrews
  • Cllr Albertus Basson
  • Cllr Cynthia Clayton
  • Cllr Gerhard Fourie
  • Cllr Bonita Jacobs
  • Cllr Xanthea Limberg
  • Cllr Siva Moodley
  • Cllr Rose Rau
  • Cllr Johannes Van der Merwe
  • Cllr Antonio Van der Rheede

The title “Alderman” is a historical title derived from the Anglo-Saxon position of ealdorman, literally meaning ‘elder man’. The title is thus a fitting one to be bestowed upon councillors who, amongst other criteria, have served on one or more local government bodies within the Republic of South Africa over the course of several years; particularly as an elder and are generally expected to mentor, advise, share their experiences and create a sense of unity for their communities.
Any serving councillor who was at any time invested with the honorary title of Alderman by any disestablished local government body shall be deemed to be an Alderman of the City of Cape Town. The policy then goes on to state that the title of Alderman is conferred for life, subject to the individual is convicted of a criminal offence and sentenced to more than 12 months Imprisonment without the option of a fine; the actions of such councillor brings the Council into disrepute or they have acted in a manner unbecoming of the title of Alderman.
There after the Rules Committee shall investigate and report to Council all instances where good cause is shown for the removal of the title
of Alderman.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri