Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Kollapen contract ends

By Nomava Nobumba
30 September 2009

Commissioner Pregs Govender has been appointed as Chairperson of the SA Human Rights Commission, until the process of appointing additional new Commissioners is complete.

Commissioner Govender, who was recently appointed as a Commissioner in December 2008 will occupy this position until such time as the new Commissioners are able to meet and elect a Chairperson for the Commission.

Today the terms of office of Commissioners Jody Kollapen,Zonke Majodina, Leon Wessels, Tom Manthata, and Karthy Govender came to an end and new Commissioners are expected to take office soon.

As part of this process, the National Assembly last week unanimously recommended that Ms Lindiwe Mokate, Adv Bokantla Malatji , Adv Lawrence Mushwana , Adv Loyiso Mpumlwana, Ms Janet Love and Dr Danny Titus will serve as new Commissioners.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Ilmainen www-laskuri