The National State of Disaster extended to 15 April 2021

The National State of Disaster has been extended to 15 April 2021.

Government declared a national state of disaster on 15 March 2020 in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

The latest extension marks a full year since the first state of disaster was introduced.

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA) Minister, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, has gazetted the extension of the National State of Disaster.

“The decision to extend the state of national disaster follows consultations and Cabinet approval. Consideration of the material conditions within the context of the Risk-Adjusted Strategy motivated a decision to endorse this further extension,” it said in a statement.

Dlamini-Zuma in the statement said the public must sustain the commitment to remain responsive, agile and compassionate as government works to save lives and protect the livelihoods of all South Africans.

Cabinet also urged all to continue adhering to all COVID-19 health measures and restrictions to prevent the spread of the coronavirus.


Done By: Mitchum George